J&J Auto Racing | News Headlines

J&J Auto Racing Teams Post Nine Victories

(Photo: Troy L. Hugen/Knoxville Raceway Facebook Page) 

McKENZIE, Tenn. (June 14, 2017) – The heat of summer is finally upon us, and McKenzie, Tenn., based sprint car manufacturer J&J Auto Racing has seen its teams turn the heat up in recent weeks. With nearly 80 victories already in the books when last week’s racing action kicked-off, Team J&J wasted little time in adding to those numbers. Donny Schatz, Morgan Turpen, Jared Horstman and Sam Hafertepe, Jr., repeated as race winners, while Cale Reigle, Matt Vandervere, Shawn Bloomquist and Kyle Larson put their names in the books as a winner behind the wheel of a J&J Auto Racing entry for the first time this season.

Horstman kicked off the weekend’s campaign with a victory against the NRA Sprint Invaders Series on June 9th at Tri-City Motor Speedway in Auburn, Mich. The win marked the Ohio native’s fifth of the season. Turpen doubled up, winning in United Sprint Car Series (USCS) competition on both June 9th and 10th. The Tennessee school teacher posted her seventh and eighth wins of the year at Fort Payne (Ala.) Motor Speedway and Blue Ridge (Ga.) Motorsports Park, respectively. Turpen’s teammate, Terry Gray, followed her to the line in third place at Fort Payne Motor Speedway to earn a podium finish.

Schatz returned to an old stomping ground on June 10, as he won his 13th A-main of the season and his 10th against the World of Outlaws (WoO) Craftsman Sprint Car Series at the legendary Knoxville (Iowa) Raceway. The win marked Schatz’s 25th career feature event triumph on the half-mile oval. Hafertepe, Jr., drove to his eighth American Sprint Car Series (ASCS) feature win of 2017 at Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas, on June 13th to kick-off another week of racing action for J&J Auto Racing.

Chip Ganassi Racing NASCAR Monster Energy Cup Series driver Larson won his first career WoO Series event on June 13 at Eagle (Neb.) Raceway in an entry owned by fellow NASCAR driver, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., and Wood Racing to lead the J&J Auto Racing team into the new week. Vandervere followed suit in another 410ci winged sprint car series, as he won against the Interstate Racing Association (IRA) on June 10th at Wilmot (Wis.) Raceway.

Reigle drove to a win in the IMCA/Pass Sprint 305ci division at Clinton County Speedway on June 9th. The victory was Reigle’s second in as many attempts at the Mill Hall, Pa., facility. Bloomquist wrapped up the weekend with a win against the Oil Capital Racing Series (OCRS) at Lawton (Okla.) Speedway on June 10.

For a complete summary of J&J Auto Racing team victories for June 8 - 14, please see below.

DATE    DRIVER                             TRACK/STATE                              SERIES                             

6/9/17    Jared Horstman                  Tri-City Motor Speedway/MI          NRA Sprint Invaders

6/9/17    Morgan Turpen                  Fort Payne Motor Speedway/AL     USCS

6/9/17    Cale Reigle                         Clinton County Speedway/PA         IMCA/Pass

6/10/17  Morgan Turpen                  Blue Ridge Motorsports Park/GA   USCS

6/10/17  Donny Schatz                     Knoxville Raceway/IA                     WoO

6/10/17  Matt Vandervere                Wilmot Raceway/WI                        IRA

6/10/17  Shawn Bloomquist             Lawton Speedway/OK                     OCRS

6/13/17  Sam Hafertepe, Jr.             Devil’s Bowl Speedway/TX            ASCS

6/13/17  Kyle Larson                        Eagle Raceway/NE                           WoO

Earlier this season, J&J Auto Racing announced a Twitter contest open to both race teams competing under the brand’s banner as well as the public. For a chance to win a free J&J Auto Racing T-shirt, entrants must follow the brand on Twitter @JJ_Auto_Racing and post an appropriate racing-related image with J&J Auto Racing’s Twitter account tagged and using the hashtag #WinWithJ&J within the post.

A winner from tagged photos will be selected monthly and announced via J&J Auto Racing’s social media pages. All those submitting photos agree to allow J&J Auto Racing usage rights with photo credit. The contest will run through December 31, 2017. Monthly winners will be selected the last day of each month and announced accordingly.


About J&J Auto Racing

For more than 40 years, J&J Auto Racing has been a leader in racecar chassis manufacturing. With intricate attention to detail and a willingness to provide chassis to the consumer’s specifications, J&J has taken its place as a leader in Sprint car racing innovation and safety. Founded and headed by Jack and Bonnie Elam, J&J Auto Racing is based in McKenzie, Tenn. For more information regarding J&J Auto Racing, please visit www.jandjautoracing.com or follow the brand on Twitter @JJ_Auto_Racing and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/JJAutoRacing/. 


[ Back to J&J News ]

More News...

February 15
J&J Auto Racing Sweeps DIRTcar Nationals

February 2
Strong Dealer Network Propels J&J Auto Racing

January 26
Brocas Is Best In New Zealand

January 19
Schatz Triples Down In Australia

December 21
Zane Cooper Wins With J&J, Last Chance To Enter #WinWithJ&J Twitter Contest

December 15
Campbell, Stewart Capture Wins For J&J Auto Racing

December 2
Horstman Crowned NRA Champion, Whittall Selinsgrove Rookie Of The Year

November 23
Murcott, Moro Lock-up Titles

November 16
Hafertepe, Jr., Thomas Lock Up Titles, Starks Wins In Florida

November 11
Wins Continue, Schatz Wins The War In Charlotte

October 26
J&J Auto Racing Teams Score Wins On Two Continents, Earn Rookie Of The Year Honors

October 18
Teams Score Five Wins, Three Championships, Rookie Of The Year Title

October 13
J&J Auto Racing Welcomes New Dealers, Bova Wins Fifth Race Of 2017

October 5
McMullen Repeats As Midwest Sprintcar Association Champion, Teams Win In Five States

September 28
George Tristao, Jr., Wins Western RaceSaver Championship, Teams Pick Up Six Pack Of Victories

September 21
Zimmerman Wins Butler Motor Speedway Championship, J&J Teams Pick Up Four Wins

September 14
Teams Win An Even Dozen, Kulhanek Wins ASCS Gulf South Title

August 31
Winning Races, Chasing Championships: Moro, Edwards & Drueke Lock Up Titles

August 24
Winner, Winner, Steak Dinner

August 17
Schatz, Garner Earn Knoxville Nationals Pages

website by daniel beard