J&J Auto Racing | News Headlines

Lucky Seven: J&J Auto Racing Teams Roll Into Victory Lane

McKENZIE, Tenn. (April 4, 2017) – March may have rolled in like a lion for J&J Auto Racing, but April Fool’s Day was no joke for the McKenzie, Tenn., based manufacturer. Over a two-day span last weekend, J&J Auto Racing teams stacked up seven victories and a Top-10 finish in racing competition. Rusty Hickman, Tyler Clem, Tony Stewart, Doug Hammaker, A.J. Nash, Derek Hagar and Mike Leraas took the checkered flag in seven different respective racing series across two countries and four states.

Hickman drove to a Sprintcar Allstar 360 Series (SRA) win at Heartland Raceway in Moama, Victoria, Australia, on March 31 to kick the weekend off for J&J Auto Racing. Returning this season after a devasting crash last November, Hickman led from green to checkered to earn the win. Jessica Moulden also grabbed a podium finish, driving to a third-place effort. Nash grabbed a heart stopping last lap victory at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway in Western Australia on the same night, as he won the SAWA 360 Power Series event. Starting from fourth, Nash was caught up in an early on-track incident and was able to restart on the tail of the field. He would retake the lead on the final circuit of the 25-lap feature event, overtaking the position and the win after a competitor ran out of fuel.

Clem and Stewart combined for a pair of United Sprint Car Series (USCS) Outlaw Thunder Series wins at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla., on March 31 and April 1. Clem made history with the victory, becoming the youngest driver ever to win a USCS feature event. Stewart’s victory on Saturday night also marked his first series victory as he raced from 10th to claim the win. The triumph was Stewart’s first Sprintcar win since 2014.

Hagar continued his winning ways against the American Sprint Car Series (ASCS) Mid-South Region on April 1, as he earned his second victory of the season at I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Ark. Starting the 25-lap feature from third, Hagar took control of the race on lap 16 to go on for the win. Leraas bested the Virginia Sprint Series (VSS) IMCA Racesaver division at Shenandoah (Va.) Speedway on April 1 for his first win of the year. Taking the lead on lap 15, Leraas sealed the victory. Hammaker won his seventh 358ci Sprint Car Division feature event at Lincoln Speedway in Abbottstown, Pa., on the same night. The Carlisle, Pa., native’s victory put him one race win ahead of his father, Dale, on the all-time win list at the facility.

For a complete summary of J&J Auto Racing team victories for March 31 – April 1, please see below.

DATE    DRIVER                          TRACK/STATE                                              SERIES                

3/31/17  Rusty Hickman                    Heartland Raceway/AUS                                  SRA 360 Series

3/31/17  Tyler Clem                            Bubba Raceway Park/FL                                  USCS Outlaw Thunder Series

4/1/17    Tony Stewart                        Bubba Raceway Park/FL                                  USCS Outlaw Thunder Series

4/1/17    Doug Hammaker                  Lincoln Speedway/PA                                      358ci Division

4/1/17    A.J. Nash                             Attwell Park Speedway/W. AUS                      SAWA 360 Power Series

4/1/17    Derek Hagar                         I-30 Speedway/AR                                           ASCS Mid-South Region

4/1/17    Mike Leraas                         Shenandoah Speedway/VA                               Virginia Sprint Series

Mike Sellers was selected as the winner of the March #WinWithJ&J Twitter photo contest this week, as J&J Auto Racing selected his tagged photo from the collection. Earlier this season, J&J Auto Racing announced a Twitter contest open to both race teams competing under the brand’s banner as well as the public. For a chance to win a free J&J Auto Racing T-shirt, entrants must follow the brand on Twitter @JJ_Auto_Racing and post an appropriate racing-related image with J&J Auto Racing’s Twitter account tagged and using the hashtag #WinWithJ&J within the post.

A winner from tagged photos will be selected monthly and announced via J&J Auto Racing’s social media pages. All those submitting photos agree to allow J&J Auto Racing usage rights with photo credit. The contest will run through December 31, 2017. Monthly winners will be selected the last day of each month and announced accordingly.


About J&J Auto Racing

or more than 40 years, J&J Auto Racing has been a leader in racecar chassis manufacturing. With intricate attention to detail and a willingness to provide chassis to the consumer’s specifications, J&J has taken its place as a leader in Sprint car racing innovation and safety. Founded and headed by Jack and Bonnie Elam, J&J Auto Racing is based in McKenzie, Tenn. For more information regarding J&J Auto Racing, please visit www.jandjautoracing.com or follow the brand on Twitter @JJ_Auto_Racing and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/JJAutoRacing/. 


[ Back to J&J News ]

More News...

July 11
J&J Auto Racing Weekly Win Tracker

July 1
J&J Auto Racing Teams Continue Early Summer Win Streak Amid Somber Weekend

June 20
J&J Auto Racing Teams Break Triple Digit Win Mark Just Short Of Summer

June 14
Summer Ramps Up For J&J Auto Racing Teams: Latest Stretch Of Racing Includes Eight Victories

June 8
J&J Auto Racing Teams Nab Ten Wins: Morgan Turpen Crowned USCS Speedweek Champion

May 31
Dirty Dozen: Three Days, Two Countries, 12 Wins For J&J Auto Racing

May 25
May Brings Big Wins For J&J Auto Racing

May 10
J&J Auto Racing Locks Up Eight Victories

May 3
J&J Auto Racing Scores 11 Victories In Nine Days

April 17
Weller, Blaney, Shearer, Schatz, Clem Win With J&J Auto Racing

April 5
Pennsylvania Produce: J&J Auto Racing Drivers Sweep Features At Posse Haunts

March 29
Haudenschild, Howard Win With J&J Auto Racing

March 22
Campbell Nabs Top Gun Sprints Win At East Bay Raceway Park

March 14
Hickman Wins Eureka Garage & Sheds Sprint Car Series Title

March 9
J&J Auto Racing Scores Outlaws, USCS Series Wins

March 1
J&J Auto Racing Wins In Australia, United States Gray, Pestka, Hickman & Campbell Take Checkered Flag

February 15
J&J Auto Racing Sweeps DIRTcar Nationals

February 2
Strong Dealer Network Propels J&J Auto Racing

January 26
Brocas Is Best In New Zealand

January 19
Schatz Triples Down In Australia

website by daniel beard