J&J Auto Racing | News Headlines

J&J Drivers Claim Three Championships, Three Late Season Wins


McKENZIE, Tenn. (Nov. 16, 2016) – J&J Auto Racing teams continue to roll the competition, as the McKenzie, Tenn., based manufacturer saw drivers lay claim to three championships and three late season victories last week. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., sealed the deal on the American Sprint Car Series (ASCS) National Division title, while Brandon McMullen was named as the Midwest Sprintcar Association (MSA) champion. American drivers Derek Hagar and Ray Allen Kulhanek earned victories in the United States, while Australian ace Rusty Hickman grabbed a win in the land down under. Hagar also doubled down, as he clinched the USCS Mid-South Series championship.

Hafertepe Jr. and the Keith Dobbs No. 15H team wrapped up a championship season with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Series last weekend at Cocopah Speedway near Yuma, Arizona. The Sunnyvale, Texas driver finished fourth in the preliminary event and second in the Nov. 12 finale to clinch his first title with the series. McMullen, the third generation driver hailing from Wisconsin, won his second straight MSA Series championship. The No. 98 McMullen Racing Enterprises team was honored at the series’ championship banquet on Nov. 12 in Plymouth, Wis.

Australia’s Hickman, who is only 16 years old, won his first career A-main against a stout field of Mainline DynoLog Dynometers All Star Series competitors on Nov. 12 at Sonic Speedway in Swan Hill, Victoria, Australia. Driving the Hickman’s Tree Service No. V40, the teenager broke through for his maiden feature event win in the Mainline DynoLog Dynamometers 360 All Star Series. Hickman and his father, Darren, celebrated with a wing dance duet after clearing the scales.

Kulhanek produced a storybook ending to the 2016 season when he returned early from a vicious fire to score a victory during the season finale last weekend. Kulhanek, who was severely burned during a sprint car race in late September, drove Randy Allen's 305ci winged sprint car to Victory Lane on Saturday during the Texas Grand event at Battleground Speedway on Nov. 12. The win was Kulhanek’s second straight Texas Grand triumph.

Hagar also found victory lane on Nov. 12, claiming another United Sprint Car Series (USCS) at Riverside International Speedway (RIS). The victory gave Hagar and the No. 9JR team the edge in the final championship standings in the USCS Mid-South division. Hagar has now won championships in all three USCS divisions. With 14 wins with J&J Auto Racing in 2016, Hagar tied his second-best season victory total again in 2016.


About J&J Auto Racing

For more than 40 years, J&J Auto Racing has been a leader in racecar chassis manufacturing. With intricate attention to detail and a willingness to provide chassis to the consumer’s specifications, J&J has taken its place as a leader in Sprint car racing innovation and safety. Founded and headed by Jack and Bonnie Elam, J&J Auto Racing is based in McKenzie, Tenn. For more information regarding J&J Auto Racing, please visit www.jandjautoracing.com or follow the brand on Twitter @JJ_Auto_Racing and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/JJAutoRacing/. 



[ Back to J&J News ]

More News...

May 10
J&J Auto Racing Locks Up Eight Victories

May 3
J&J Auto Racing Scores 11 Victories In Nine Days

April 17
Weller, Blaney, Shearer, Schatz, Clem Win With J&J Auto Racing

April 5
Pennsylvania Produce: J&J Auto Racing Drivers Sweep Features At Posse Haunts

March 29
Haudenschild, Howard Win With J&J Auto Racing

March 22
Campbell Nabs Top Gun Sprints Win At East Bay Raceway Park

March 14
Hickman Wins Eureka Garage & Sheds Sprint Car Series Title

March 9
J&J Auto Racing Scores Outlaws, USCS Series Wins

March 1
J&J Auto Racing Wins In Australia, United States Gray, Pestka, Hickman & Campbell Take Checkered Flag

February 15
J&J Auto Racing Sweeps DIRTcar Nationals

February 2
Strong Dealer Network Propels J&J Auto Racing

January 26
Brocas Is Best In New Zealand

January 19
Schatz Triples Down In Australia

December 21
Zane Cooper Wins With J&J, Last Chance To Enter #WinWithJ&J Twitter Contest

December 15
Campbell, Stewart Capture Wins For J&J Auto Racing

December 2
Horstman Crowned NRA Champion, Whittall Selinsgrove Rookie Of The Year

November 23
Murcott, Moro Lock-up Titles

November 16
Hafertepe, Jr., Thomas Lock Up Titles, Starks Wins In Florida

November 11
Wins Continue, Schatz Wins The War In Charlotte

October 26
J&J Auto Racing Teams Score Wins On Two Continents, Earn Rookie Of The Year Honors

website by daniel beard