J&J Auto Racing | News Headlines

Schatz & Mack Named Champions, Howard Wins Sprint Car Portion Of Louisiana State Championship Event

Photo: Tony Stewart Racing Facebook

McKENZIE, Tenn. (Nov. 2, 2016) – J&J Auto Racing scored another big week as the iconic Sprint Car chassis brand added championship titles and two victories to its 2016 results list over the weekend. Donny Schatz and Tony Stewart/Curb-Agajanian Racing (TSR) were officially crowned as the 2016 World of Outlaws (WoO) Craftsman Sprint Car Series champions and won the final event of the season at The Dirt Track @ Charlotte on Oct. 29 to close out another stellar season. Casey Mack battled it out to win the 2016 River Cities Speedway Championship in Grand Forks, ND, and Cody Howard wrapped up the year with a victory in the Sprint Car portion of the Louisiana State Championship at Baton Rouge (LA) Raceway.

In winning the 2016 WoO title, Schatz finished off his fourth consecutive championship season as the only driver in the series’ 39-year history to win more than 20 WoO A-main features in four consecutive season. In that span, he’s collected 105 victories. Schatz won an impressive 25 WoO A-main events in 2016 en route to his eighth series title. The 2016 season marked Schatz’s 20th season as a full-time member of the WoO Series.

“J&J Auto Racing, Jack and Bonnie (Elam), I’m proud to call you guys friends,” said Schatz. “And I’m very grateful for the over and above efforts to build the best products possible for Tony Stewart Racing. I appreciate everyone’s kind words, it’s very overwhelming. Twenty times I’ve stood on this stage as a World of Outlaw. Here were are 20 years later and it still hasn’t all quite sunk in. What has sunk in is the importance of the people you are surrounded by.”

Mack was crowned the 2016 River Cities Speedway (RCS) track champion in September. Driving to two wins this season, Mack was consistently a top-three car every night at RCS and throughout the duration of the Northern Outlaw Sprint Association (NOSA) tour events. In addition to earning the RCS crown, Mack also finished as the runner-up in the NOSA final point standings, only four points behind series champion, Wade Nygaard.

Howard posted his second victory of the season at Baton Rouge (LA) Raceway on Oct. 29 in winning The Louisiana State Championship Sprint Car feature. Besting a stout field of 360ci winged sprint cars, Howard drove to the win in his home state to wrap up a strong season for the native Louisianan.


About J&J Auto Racing

For more than 40 years, J&J Auto Racing has been a leader in racecar chassis manufacturing. With intricate attention to detail and a willingness to provide chassis to the consumer’s specifications, J&J has taken its place as a leader in Sprint car racing innovation and safety. Founded and headed by Jack and Bonnie Elam, J&J Auto Racing is based in McKenzie, Tenn. For more information regarding J&J Auto Racing, please visit www.jandjautoracing.com or follow the brand on Twitter @JJ_Auto_Racing and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/JJAutoRacing/. 


[ Back to J&J News ]

More News...

May 10
J&J Auto Racing Locks Up Eight Victories

May 3
J&J Auto Racing Scores 11 Victories In Nine Days

April 17
Weller, Blaney, Shearer, Schatz, Clem Win With J&J Auto Racing

April 5
Pennsylvania Produce: J&J Auto Racing Drivers Sweep Features At Posse Haunts

March 29
Haudenschild, Howard Win With J&J Auto Racing

March 22
Campbell Nabs Top Gun Sprints Win At East Bay Raceway Park

March 14
Hickman Wins Eureka Garage & Sheds Sprint Car Series Title

March 9
J&J Auto Racing Scores Outlaws, USCS Series Wins

March 1
J&J Auto Racing Wins In Australia, United States Gray, Pestka, Hickman & Campbell Take Checkered Flag

February 15
J&J Auto Racing Sweeps DIRTcar Nationals

February 2
Strong Dealer Network Propels J&J Auto Racing

January 26
Brocas Is Best In New Zealand

January 19
Schatz Triples Down In Australia

December 21
Zane Cooper Wins With J&J, Last Chance To Enter #WinWithJ&J Twitter Contest

December 15
Campbell, Stewart Capture Wins For J&J Auto Racing

December 2
Horstman Crowned NRA Champion, Whittall Selinsgrove Rookie Of The Year

November 23
Murcott, Moro Lock-up Titles

November 16
Hafertepe, Jr., Thomas Lock Up Titles, Starks Wins In Florida

November 11
Wins Continue, Schatz Wins The War In Charlotte

October 26
J&J Auto Racing Teams Score Wins On Two Continents, Earn Rookie Of The Year Honors

website by daniel beard